china map, map of china

Tibet Province Overview
Xizang (Tibet) Autonomous Region, abbreviated as Zang in Chinese, is located on the southwest part of Qingzang Plateau, along the southwest border of China. It covers an area of over 1.2 million square kilometers, and has a population of 2.68 million. The capital city of Tibet Province is Lhasa.

Tibet Province Geography: Being named 'the roof of the world', the average altitude of Tibet ranges from above 5,000 meters in the west to around 4,000 meters in the east. Major mountains in Tibet are Mt. Himalayas, Mt. Gangdise Shan, Mt. Kunlun Shan, Mt. Hoh Xil Shan, Mt. Tanggula (Dangla) Shan, and Mt. Hengduan Shan. Major rivers are Yarlung Zangbo River, Nu River, Lancang River and Jinsha River.

Tibet Province Climate: Tibet enjoys arid highland climate, characterized with sharp vertical change in temperature. In general, long hours of sunshine are balanced by low temperature, sparse rainfall, low oxygen and low low air pressure. With an annual rainfall of 50 ~ 500 mm, the average annual temperature is between -4 ~ -10 ℃ in January, and around 15 ℃ in July.

Tibet Province Agriculture: Animal husbandry plays an important role in Tibet's economy and it raises diversified stockes such as yak, pien niu, sheep, goat, pig, horse, donkey and mule.

Tibet Province Industry: Tibet's industries mainly consists of power genrating, mining, pharmacy, wool weaving paper making and diary food production.

Tourist Resources of Tibet Province: Tibet greatly attracts tourist from China and aboard for its mysterious religious culture and majestic and grand scenery. It has Potala Palace, Jokhang Temple, Bharkor Street, Norbulingka, Tashilumpo Monastery, Yarlung Zangbo Valley, Mt. Everest.


Tibet Province Map


China Tibet Map 1

Click to view larger version (1662* 1142 pixels 725 Kb)

China Tibet Map 2

Click to view larger version (2600* 1706 pixels 1.41 Mb)

China Province Maps
China City Maps
Other maps of China
Contact China Maps at .